PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Effects?



khjui
February 12th, 2010, 05:21 PM
Hi
For some reason, when I try and run effects, I get a message saying: Desktop Effects Could Not Be Enabled.

Do I have to install anything extra to run effects?

Also,
I have seen a you tube video in which the user of Ubuntu can make a 3d window view? And have 4 desktops open?

Thanks In Advance

-Tom

(I'm using Ubuntu 9.10)

audiomick
February 12th, 2010, 05:25 PM
Hi.
For anyone to be able to help you, they will need to know what graphics card you are using.
Open a terminal, do

lspci
and post the result back here, if you don't already know what brand and model it is.

khjui
February 12th, 2010, 05:45 PM
Hi.
For anyone to be able to help you, they will need to know what graphics card you are using.
Open a terminal, do

lspciand post the result back here, if you don't already know what brand and model it is.

Thanks!
After doing that, I got this:


00:00.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] RS780 Host Bridge
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] RS780 PCI to PCI bridge (int gfx)
00:04.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] RS780 PCI to PCI bridge (PCIE port 0)
00:05.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] RS780 PCI to PCI bridge (PCIE port 1)
00:06.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] RS780 PCI to PCI bridge (PCIE port 2)
00:11.0 SATA controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 SATA Controller [AHCI mode]
00:12.0 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB OHCI0 Controller
00:12.1 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700 USB OHCI1 Controller
00:12.2 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB EHCI Controller
00:13.0 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB OHCI0 Controller
00:13.1 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700 USB OHCI1 Controller
00:13.2 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB EHCI Controller
00:14.0 SMBus: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 SMBus Controller (rev 3a)
00:14.2 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA)
00:14.3 ISA bridge: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 LPC host controller
00:14.4 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 PCI to PCI Bridge
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Mobile K10 [Turion X2, Athlon X2, Sempron] HyperTransport Configuration (rev 40)
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 11h [Turion X2, Athlon X2, Sempron] Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Mobile K10 [Turion X2, Athlon X2, Sempron] DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Mobile K10 [Turion X2, Athlon X2, Sempron] Miscellaneous Control
00:18.4 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Mobile K10 [Turion X2, Athlon X2, Sempron] Link Control
01:05.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc RS780M/RS780MN [Radeon HD 3200 Graphics]
01:05.1 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc RS780 Azalia controller
02:00.0 Ethernet controller: Atheros Communications Inc. AR5001 Wireless Network Adapter (rev 01)
09:00.0 Ethernet controller: Marvell Technology Group Ltd. Device 4380 (rev 10

audiomick
February 12th, 2010, 05:57 PM
Hallo
this

01:05.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc RS780M/RS780MN [Radeon HD 3200 Graphics]is your graphics card.

You probably haven't got the proprietary driver activated. Go to
system> administration> hardware drivers
and select and activate the driver it offers you.

I am using nVidia, so after that, I am a bit hazy with ATI graphics. If you are still having problems, you might have to wait for someone with ATI experience.

khjui
February 12th, 2010, 06:07 PM
Hallo
this

01:05.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc RS780M/RS780MN [Radeon HD 3200 Graphics]is your graphics card.

You probably haven't got the proprietary driver activated. Go to
system> administration> hardware drivers
and select and activate the driver it offers you.

I am using nVidia, so after that, I am a bit hazy with ATI graphics. If you are still having problems, you might have to wait for someone with ATI experience.

Ahhh, that did it! Thanks!

sandyd
February 12th, 2010, 06:22 PM
You can also use envyng, or download it from the ATI Site.
if it works, dont touch it....