PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Could This Be a Virus? (I Know, I Know, But Hear Me Out)

Jonzer
February 11th, 2010, 01:08 PM
Okay, I know the reaction mention of a virus is likely to provoke but please, hear me out. To set the scene, I am primarily a Windows Sys Admin of 11 years with a smattering of *nix knowledge garnered over the years. At home, I only have Ubunutu and OSX.

Now, I know I won't get any sympathy for my transport method for having received what I believe was a virus, as it must have been encapsulated in a zip/rar file containing mp3s downloaded from the internet.

I was using an 8GB flash drive to transfer said files from Ubuntu to Mac. After transferring the files I noticed, all of a sudden, that the root of the flash drive had started to fill up with files with nonsensical alphanumeric names and three letter file extensions (all extensions were different for each "file"). I pulled the drive and moved it back to Ubuntu. Not only was it full of these files (sorry, I cannot provide a screenshot but I was panicking as the drive contained sensitive, important data) but the sizes attributed to them by Ubuntu were nonsensical as it appeared to have more than the max 8GB. I was also unable to delete any of these files - they were greyed out and right clicking on them produced no context sensitive menu whatsoever. I moved my important files off and formatted, which solved the issue but it harked back to the "I Love You" virus of days of yore which, to my memory renamed all files as .VBS files (on Windows obviously), but whatever anomoly occured in this instance did appear to be renaming files and folders of its own accord.

The files in question had not been extracted from a zip/rar archive to my knowledge, but appeared after the fact. I scanned my Mac with iAntiVirus afterwards, which found no traces of virus. I have not yet scanned the Linux laptop, though I know already it will find nothing.