PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu_studio] alternatives to real bass (for ardour recording)

extendedping
February 7th, 2010, 07:04 PM
I have tried my bass (which I suck at btw) through both the direct port 1 of my firepod and through various amp settings on my vox tonelab (which yea I know is really for guitar) but I can't get a good sound. I was wondering if there are any real bass samples floating around that I could then program into ardour. or any good keyboard (or synthasizer I guess it is officially called) that I could download to give me doors like organ/bass notes for recording. thanks in advance, I tried something called alsa modular synth but perhaps cause I am new to this I could not get it to make a sound in ardour after attaching a virtual keyboard to it. :(

cchhrriiss121212
February 7th, 2010, 07:39 PM
When I have recorded bass guitar I just go from pre-amp to my d/a box. Then I use compression and other effects and eq for taste. Calf plugins for jack is what I use for that.
Does the firepod have pre-amps included? If not you should look into getting one. I've never heard a decent bass sound going through a guitar amp.
There are plenty of decent synth sounds available in zynaddsubfx and freebirth. Have a go with the presets and then tweak them or make your own.

Regarding the trouble with alsa modular synth: I've tried this program before and didn't like it much but there plenty of alternatives. I use patchage to get different programs connected as opposed to jack connections window, have you tried that?

robeast
February 7th, 2010, 10:09 PM