PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] GRUB error, can't install, bad CD?

Melyans
February 7th, 2010, 04:41 PM
Hi people, i saw many threads with the same problem, but I've been reading and it seems like for each case there's a diferent solution and i couldnt find any that has exactly my problem, so i open this cz i'm really a noob on this and dont want to keep playing arround and keep making things worst. I'll try and do this as short as i can. Please help me :sad:

I dual-boot WIndows XP and Ubuntu 9.10 a week ago, with a partition for each and an extra one for files (NTFS). I was really happy cz installation was rather easy and it was working well, i just wanted the third partition (Labeled "THINGS") to automount itself on start. Someone told me to modify the fstab file wich i did and then the partition couldnt be mounted and all the modifications i tried on the fstab (following other people's advices) didnt work, so since i hadnt really done anything on ubuntu so far i erased the entire ext4 and swap partitions (from live CD) and installed it again.