PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Karmic sound just randomly quit working

Apache0c
February 6th, 2010, 07:53 AM
I posted this in Absolute Beginner Talk because I am an eternal Linux NOOB. I've been working on it for 10 years and I'm just now figuring out how to use Sudo... I kno, I kno...

I'm pretty hopeless.

Anyway, I thought I was some sort of cool hacker because I was able to install Karmic on my machine and get everything working without a hitch. I had sound working both on my external 5.1 and on my USB headset, I installed Firestarter and even dressed things up with compiz and emerald. I installed Windows 7 Ultimate in Virtualbox and got it working in seamless and yeah, I basically bragged to everyone I know...

Now a week later, and all in the same day, I come home and somehow my firewall is stopped, my USB keyboard completely quit on me and my sound just randomly stopped working. fml

I dont care about the keyboard and while the firewall is a mystery, I've reactivated it and will deal with that later. But as far as the sound, I'm lost, I've read endless pages about scripts and root terminal commands and I'm hoping there is some sort of fix I can download and install with the GUI, it makes me feel pathetic.

I've ran all of my updates and restarted several times, I've checked and rechecked my settings... Can anyone help me?

Apache0c
February 6th, 2010, 07:42 PM
Ahh... I guess it is really busy around here, a lot of us noobs looking for someone to make their problems easy. lol :D

Anyway, thanks to anyone who reads this and hopefully you maybe at least get a laugh out of my story because I did indeed get the sound working again.

Solution: In the sound preferences, hardware tab, with my primary audio output device selected, I just scrolled through the "Settings selected for this device:" at the bottom. While I had an audio application playing, I started at the top with "Off" and just used my scroll wheel to click through each one until the sound came on.