PDA

View Full Version : [kubuntu] 8.04 server installation problem

JKH Designs
February 5th, 2010, 02:30 AM
Hello,

I am relatively new at Ubuntu I have set up 5 - 8.04 Hardy servers successfully. Trying for my 6th. I am using the server version and then installing the kubuntu gui to make it more user friendly. I have one of my first systems in the office that was my bosś home system. He was updating through the adept updater and inspite of me telling him not to upgrade the version to jaunty he accidently hit the version upgrade button. Sure enough just like on one of my other systems it locked the system up where he could not get to the Kubuntu Hardy GUI desktop. He brought the CPU into the office for me to try to get back up. I first tried the recovery mode from the grub menu that did not work. I then put my original CD that was burnt in August of 2008 in the drive to do a complete install, before doing this I tried the recover mode from the CD. This was also unsuccessful. I then tried a complete install. I was able to get it loaded and to a command prompt. I then proceded to run update which was successful. I then tried installing the Kubuntu desktop. This is where I started having problems the first time it stopped downloading at 75% stating that there were unrecoverable errors. I had to go back and do another complete system install. Again this was successful and again updated successfully. The next time the Kubuntu installer got to 100% and then I rebooted to get to the desktop but instead of going to the desktop the monitor shuts down like a power save mode but it will not recover. When you reboot the Kubuntu loadup bar comes on and runs over to the far right end and then again the monitor shuts down. Just before going to the desktop. Does anyone have any ideas on what I should try next. I have gone back through the install procedure again for the 3rd time successfully getting to a command prompt but for some reason can not get to my GUI. Each time between