PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Wireless Network Help!

misanthropica
February 5th, 2010, 12:27 AM
My friend gave me an old Presario 2100 laptop with Ubuntu 9.10 already loaded. My wife was using the computer to search the internet and she let the battery completely die. When I plugged it in and tried to start it back up, it kept freezing up, so I re-installed Ubuntu and now it's working again; however, now I can't connect to my wireless network. I'm completely new to Ubuntu, and my router is obviously working because I'm typing this on my other laptop. The help page isn't much help, either. What do I do?

brawd
February 5th, 2010, 12:40 AM
Start by clicking on the network applet at the top right of the screen. A left click will show if you have detected your wireless network.
If it has then click on it to enable it. Then (I think) right click on the applet to put in your WEP number.

That's the simple stuff. See how you go.

regards,

brawd

switch10
February 5th, 2010, 12:46 AM
plug the laptop into your router via an Ethernet cable. go to system>administration>hardware drivers in Ubuntu. See if that finds your wireless drivers.

Did the laptop have Ubuntu previously installed on it?

misanthropica
February 5th, 2010, 01:59 AM
Thanks for responding. "No proprietary drivers in use on this system," was the message I received when I checked for drivers, so I'm assuming my friend loaded one before...? Where would I find a the driver I need and how do I check the card type?

Stumped,

bkratz
February 5th, 2010, 03:02 AM
Thanks for responding. "No proprietary drivers in use on this system," was the message I received when I checked for drivers, so I'm assuming my friend loaded one before...? Where would I find a the driver I need and how do I check the card type?

Stumped,

go to the terminal (Applications>>Accessories>>Terminal) and type in