PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Graphics Driver Installation

Afiorentino
February 4th, 2010, 07:46 PM
Hi, I am relatively new to Linux and have some light computer background (I can work my way around Ubuntu with a guide). I have been trying to install the driver for my video card so that I can play games through WINE and watch movies on my tv through with the s-video cable, but I've ran in to a few problems.

The video card I currently have installed is a Radeon X1950XTX. I've tried going through ati's website to install the legacy driver, but when I try to use the .run file in terminal, I get an shell error saying that it can't be opened.

I've also tried using the synaptic file, but I find it too confusing. Any suggestions?

dondiego2
February 4th, 2010, 07:54 PM
Did you go to System->Hardware Drivers and run that? That will look for compatible drivers for your system. That's how I got my graphic card to work.

mesuhas_sit
February 4th, 2010, 07:57 PM
First of all I am also new to Linux... But I also have a ATI graphics card which was not working when I first installed Ubuntu. What I did was to enable 3rd EXTRA option in Appearance preferences. First it gave me an error automatically switched back to NONE which is the first default option. I tried it once more it automatically downloaded some packages and now I have the extra features turned on like COmpiz.

Hope this will help you as well

verachion
February 4th, 2010, 08:18 PM
First of all I am also new to Linux... But I also have a ATI graphics card which was not working when I first installed Ubuntu. What I did was to enable 3rd EXTRA option in Appearance preferences. First it gave me an error automatically switched back to NONE which is the first default option. I tried it once more it automatically downloaded some packages and now I have the extra features turned on like COmpiz.

Hope this will help you as well