PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How to install Rosegarden?

SNR99
February 4th, 2010, 07:17 PM
I am an absolute newbie to Ubuntu but am loving a bit of version 9.10 which I have just managed to successfully install on my laptop. I plan to use this as a computer to talk to my digital piano which has a USB midi interface.

I have had a search around and Rosegarden looks like it ticks all the boxes I need. However, being an absolute newbie, the installation is baffling. Looking through the notes, the list of things I need are:

"Runtime requirements

In order to be fully functional and provide the optimal user experience, Rosegarden requires the following external applications.

bash
available, functioning ALSA General MIDI soft synth (QSynth, TiMidity++, etc.) with soundfont (Fluid-Soundfont, Freepats, etc.)
lilypond
ocular OR acroread OR evince
gtklp OR lpr OR lp
jackd
flac
wavpack/wvunpack
qjackctl
DSSI plugins (any available)
LADSPA plugins (any available)"

However, I am now lost! Can anyone help me to work out

1) Whether I already have any of this list installed
2) How I can go about installing the above components
3) If there is then a sequence of items I need to go through to then get Rosegarden to work.

Many thanks

howefield
February 4th, 2010, 07:19 PM
Rosegarden is in the repository, so install with Synaptic Package Manager, it should pull in whatever dependancies it needs, if you haven't got them already.

SNR99
February 4th, 2010, 08:43 PM
THanks for the quick reply - I tried installing as you suggested which seemed to work OK. When I came to run Rosegarden however, I got the message "Failed to connect to the JACK server".