PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Modem won't connect to my ISP

Dan Flanagan
February 4th, 2010, 06:55 PM
Hello,
I have been using Windows since 1990 and recently installed Ubuntu on my computer. Everything works OK with no issues with installing Ubuntu. My machine is a 2.66 GHZ Celeron with Windows XP Professional and Ubuntu installed with dual boot. 512MB RAM, 80G HD.

Now, I am trying to get the internal modem, a PCI INTEL536EP to connect to my isp. After reading many help files and posts I have installed the driver and wvdial and configured it for my isp. I initially had dependency problems with wvdial but seem to have resolved them with the correct deb package that contained the additional files.

When I run wvdial, all starts normally. I hear a dial tone, the phone number is dialed, I can hear the connection interrogation etc, but when it connects it immediately disconnects and says "carrier lost" and prompts for my username which I have entered in wvdial.conf. After I enter my username it says it has "timed out". NOTE: I am not sure I have saved the wvdial.conf in the correct folder, it's in two different folders.

I have run wvdiaconf and it tells me it cannot find any serial ports. In windows the modem uses COM3, not sure which IRQ. I think I saw somewhere in the windows device manager the UART uses IRQ16 but I need to verify this.

Also, I have installed GNOMEppp and tried setting it up but it does not detect a modem on any serial port ttys0 to ttys3. I have run a command from terminal with does detect the modem... so I am confused, it seems my Linux system cannot find the modem serial port.

Any hints on what I'm doing wrong, or need to do, would be appreciated...:razz:

Silvertones
February 4th, 2010, 07:20 PM
well i'm using an external US Robotics modem. I couldn't get it to work at first. I discovered a bug report that in order for it to work I needed to uninstall "modemmanager" in synaptic.

Bartender
February 4th, 2010, 07:53 PM
Hi, Dan -