PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] A little help with wireless needed please



Schiaparelli
February 4th, 2010, 10:47 AM
Hi all

I managed to finally get my wireless card to connect- it's a wg111t netgear usb dongle. I have an interesting issue:

when I reboot the network (wlan0) goes away. If I boot without the dongle in, then stick it back in, I get wlan0 back and it connects - although since rebooting I haven't been able to browse the net. Even though it's telling me it's connected, my router (unlike before) is showing no connection. When I plug the wired connection in it shows up - in fact when I plugged the wired in while the wireless was theoretically connected BOTH showed up - can only browse via the eth0 though...


Can anyone tell me what I should type in the terminal window to troubleshoot?

thanks in advance...

superprash2003
February 4th, 2010, 03:57 PM
well just to make sure that your connected to the network and that you have a successful connection please post output of ifconfig and iwconfig from the terminal

Schiaparelli
February 6th, 2010, 10:00 AM
Hi superprash2003, here we go...



gavin@gavin-runningpc:~$ iwconfig
lo no wireless extensions.

eth0 no wireless extensions.

wlan0 IEEE 802.11g ESSID:off/any
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.462 GHz Access Point: 00:18:4D:FE:A3:D2
Bit Rate=54 Mb/s
Power Management:off
Link Quality:96/100 Signal level:-34 dBm Noise level:-96 dBm
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

gavin@gavin-runningpc:~$ ifconfig
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0d:61:53:a0:96
inet6 addr: fe80::20d:61ff:fe53:a096/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:3062 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:53 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:185666 (185.6 KB) TX bytes:6077 (6.0 KB)
Interrupt:23 Base address:0xa000

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:32 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:32 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:3040 (3.0 KB) TX bytes:3040 (3.0 KB)

wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:18:4d:d4:fc:0f
inet addr:192.168.5.81 Bcast:192.168.5.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::218:4dff:fed4:fc0f/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:639 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:727 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:84351 (84.3 KB) TX bytes:80095 (80.0 KB)

If I connect via eth0 it connects and my router picks it up... If I first boot up and connect via wlan0 it connects and my router doesn't pick it up (and no internet). If I first connect via eth0 THEN connect via wlan0 it doesnt connect at all... a bit like mastermind this! my router is using WPA PSK and no DHCP. so I decide on an IP to allow and give the linux machine that IP. It also checks Mac address. The eth0 connects via the machine's MAC address, and the wireless connection via the wireless card's MAC address - is this correct?

Also, sometimes (like now) it says under iwconfig that no access point is associated??

superprash2003
February 9th, 2010, 04:28 PM
yes , it is via MAC address. but your outputs show no sign of it connecting to any wifi network. could you post output of sudo iwlist scanning from the terminal

Neural Nut@work
February 9th, 2010, 07:22 PM
So as I understand the problem is that on Reboot it doesnt seem to remember right?!

You say the word finally; like you had to use an NDIS Wrapper or something. :D

If so, please be sure to
sudo vi /etc/modules and add either ndiswrapper or whatever speical module u used to load the driver (would be evident from your steps).

And reboot and try it out...