PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Guru help please!- 100% CPU constantly

daikon
February 4th, 2010, 02:00 AM
Hi there

I'm new to all this, so please be gently. I know there are a few other threads similar to this but I can't seem to find my answer that way.

So- Just installed Xubuntu 9.10 after trying a few different installations of ubuntu, kubuntu SUSE etc. figured my system can't cope with KDE or, maybe GNOME so decided to try Xubuntu.

Installed fine, seems to be going swimmingly, then after installing a few things I use regularly, 100% CPU all the time, sometimes fails to boot.

Confused. Reinstalled Xubuntu, all fine, then installed things one by one- IBus and Anthy for Japanese support, ok. restart, CPU normal. Opera, flash plug in- restart, ok CPU normal. Mnemosyne, flash card system. again ok. Skype- installed but didn't start yet. Listened to BBC iplayer radio via opera. Next time I restarted- 100% constant CPU usage.
System monitor says this:
Xubuntu karmic 9.10 (didn't install updates after 2nd installation-figured maybe there was a problem there)
Kernel linux 2.6.31-14-generic
GNOME 2.28.1

Memory 495.8 MiB
Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 cpu 2.80GHz
available disk space 62.0 Gib

did Top command in Terminal:
system monitor uses 45%cpu
dbus-daemon39%
gvfs-gdu-volume6%
gvfs-gphoto2-vo 6%
gvfsd3%

gvfsd is using 13%mem
opera is using 18%mem

Anybody any idea what its all about? all help appreciated!

Cheers
Matt

audiomick
February 4th, 2010, 02:07 AM
Hi Matt.
I am not going to be able to help you to the end of this, but:
Let us know what your CPU is.
I can only assume it is fairly slow. My system monitor is only using around 4%
My dbus deamon is sleeping, but that doesn't tell me much, because I don't know what it does.
My CPU is a dual core @3.13GHz ( or there abouts.)

daikon
February 4th, 2010, 02:37 AM
Hi, thanks for the answer

cpu is

Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 cpu 2.80GHz

Do I need more info than this?