PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Arista Transcode Gstreamer Element faac & Gstreamer Element x264 encoder



NickJones
February 2nd, 2010, 12:37 PM
Hi there,
I installed Arista Transcode today to try and rip a DVD to PlayStation 3 format, I hit go and it said I had to install more codecs, which I did, I tried it again and it says the same thing, only this time it's asking for:


GStreamer element faac
GStreamer element x264enc

And it says "No packages with the requested packages found"
I'm running a fully updated version of Ubuntu 9.10,
I have the following other media software installed as well as all the other media software that comes with Ubuntu:


K9copy
MPlayer Media Player
PS3 Media Server
DVD::RIP
Xine

Cheers,
Nick

ghostborg
March 3rd, 2010, 09:07 PM
hmmm, I wonder if it was asking for the codec to deal with the DVD protection? In that case go over to https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Medibuntu

and follow the instructions.

It probably wouldn't hurt to install ubuntu-restricted-extras if you did not already.

Remember to re-do this after distribution upgrades.

michaelwheatland
May 2nd, 2010, 04:55 AM
In order to get Arista working correctly you need to add the official Arista repository to get the codecs.

Use the commands below:


sudo sh -c "echo 'deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/danielgtaylor/ppa/ubuntu jaunty main' >> /etc/apt/sources.list"Then add the PGP key:


sudo apt-key adv --keyserver keyserver.ubuntu.com --recv-keys A1B03D01You can then reinstall Arista from the new repository:


sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get install arista

Then TRANSCODE!

tsloper1
September 3rd, 2010, 09:04 AM
I followed your instructions and re-installed Arista. It sees my DC10+ card, but when I run the program it say "The input file or device contains no audio or video streams" and closes the file

diablofatt
June 5th, 2011, 06:55 PM
In order to get Arista working correctly you need to add the official Arista repository to get the codecs.

Use the commands below:


sudo sh -c "echo 'deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/danielgtaylor/ppa/ubuntu jaunty main' >> /etc/apt/sources.list"Then add the PGP key:


sudo apt-key adv --keyserver keyserver.ubuntu.com --recv-keys A1B03D01You can then reinstall Arista from the new repository:


sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get install arista

Then TRANSCODE!


This got the program working for me. Thanks!

hemna
October 4th, 2011, 08:59 PM
W: Failed to fetch http://ppa.launchpad.net/danielgtaylor/ppa/ubuntu/dists/jaunty/main/binary-amd64/Packages 404 Not Found

cain071546
April 18th, 2012, 03:19 AM
W: Failed to fetch http://ppa.launchpad.net/danielgtaylor/ppa/ubuntu/dists/jaunty/main/binary-amd64/Packages 404 Not Found

BUMP, the PPA is a dead end ie not working, anyone know where i could find a copy of the packages?