PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Is there a codecs / media formats for Dummies ?

LuridCinema
January 31st, 2010, 03:40 AM
I have been playing w/ video for a few years now and recently made the switch from windoze to a real Os and I see that I'm in need of a good primer on video codecs. & formats. I see all sorts of terms thrown around h.264 aac lib mts m2t dvi avi dv mov mp4 mpeg4 mpeg2 etc etc etc and I havedone some searches on a few and get 10000 words on the paramaters, but I'm still not getting a good grasp of the whole picture enough to make educated decisions.

Im playing with animations and do some video which is in .mov format and I have played around w/ cinelerra some. I'm seeing that NLE's in Linux offer many many parameters in saving and encoding, but I feel in the dark on what a lot of this stuff means. I'm experimenting w/ ffmpeg and I do not feel that Im able to correctly use such a powerful tool. I look at a video and wonder do I go w/ .mov or mp4 and then do I go w/ ac3 on the audio or wma or.. or.. or..

My main point is .. Is there a place where I can go to get a primer on all the codecs and formats out there ??

wildhostile
January 31st, 2010, 06:23 AM

Hi,

You have first to make the difference between a container format and a codec.
According to wikipedia:
"A container format is a computer file format that can contain various types of data, compressed by means of standardized audio/video codecs. The container file is used to identify and interleave the different data types. Simpler container formats can contain different types of audio codecs, while more advanced container formats can support multiple audio and video streams, subtitles, chapter-information, and meta-data (tags) - along with the synchronization information needed to play back the various streams together."
eg: .avi, .mov, .dv, .mpeg, .asf, .ogg, .mkv, etc.