PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] WIreless and battrey icon missing

gerryex
January 31st, 2010, 12:23 AM
Hi ALL,

I am very new to Ubuntu but am familier with OS's in general. I loaded the latest version (9.10, I believe) onto an Acer laptop and its been wroking fine. Just today I had to change out my router to the standard one used by Verizon FiOS, which includes wireless. After some stumbles got everything to work pertty well, but then I had a problem.

When I booted up in the panel at the top, which used to show an icon for the battery and for the wireless connection now showed two icons for the speaker level next to the wireless icon. One of the speaker icons worked as expected but the other one didn't do anything. So I right clicked on it and deleted it and it went away along with the wireless icon. Now I can't seem to get either one back.

I did go into the power management app in the main menu and did specify that the icon show all the time but that didn't help. I also right clicked on the panel and looked at the available things to add but neither the battery nor the wireless icons were listed.

The other thing is where can you go to make changes to the wireless setup if the icon is missing. Shouldn't there be some other way to get to the wireless setup?

Anyway, any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Gerry

NightwishFan
January 31st, 2010, 12:36 AM
Press alt+f2 and type:

killall gnome-panel

Is your panel still incorrect? If so, open a Terminal under Application -> Accessories and type:

killall nm-applet && nm-applet

Did the network applet show up? Please print any error messages in the terminal.

gerryex
January 31st, 2010, 12:56 AM
Press alt+f2 and type:

killall gnome-panel

Is your panel still incorrect? If so, open a Terminal under Application -> Accessories and type:

killall nm-applet && nm-applet

Did the network applet show up? Please print any error messages in the terminal.

Hi NightwishFan,