PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Recovering Data from my WD My Book World Edition 500Gb

G-ManD
January 30th, 2010, 10:28 AM
Can someone please help, I have a WD My Book World Edition 500G (Blue Rings). I am now totally frustrated after spending the entire day trying to resolve backing up the data. The drive has been removed from the initial case and I have attached it to a sata USB Docking station. I downloaded the Ubuntu software and follow the web forum http://randomlylearned.blogspot.com/2008/09/recover-data-from-my-book-world-edition.html to the tee.

In Ubuntu I was able to create a folder via the command in the terminal window as follows
sudo mkdir /media/xyz
sudo mount -t ext3 /dev/sdb4 /media/xyz
when trying to mount the drive i get a message as follows
mount: special directory 4 does not exist.
I admit I am not a expert at lunix.....but how do i know what ext the drive is or how it is partitioned. It all seemed so simple a task to complete.
I am able to see the drive but it will not mount automatically

mechro
January 30th, 2010, 10:37 AM
Try gparted (partition manager). Should be in System > Admin... > Gparted or Partition Editor

Also, when you plug in the drive, see if it turns up in Places. You can single-click or right-click to mount it from there.

mechro
January 30th, 2010, 10:52 AM
sudo mount -t ext3 /dev/sdb4 /media/xyz

Ahh! I see. That applies to the blog writer's kit. It would only work on your kit by pure chance.

As I said above, see if the drive appears in Places and you shouldn't need to issue any Terminal commands.

G-ManD
January 30th, 2010, 11:05 AM
Ahh! I see. That applies to the blog writer's kit. It would only work on your kit by pure chance.

As I said above, see if the drive appears in Places and you shouldn't need to issue any Terminal commands.

Cheers mechro....i will give it a bash

G-ManD
January 31st, 2010, 01:38 AM