PDA

View Full Version : Ubuntu CE 9.10 UNR

Anastasis
January 30th, 2010, 02:45 AM
Today I've been working with remastersys to make an Ubuntu CE Netbook Remix. I've been a dedicated user of Christian Edition this past year, but as I now use my Netbook most often I wanted to have a Netbook Remix version available of Christian Edition.

I've worked from the 9.10 Karmic of UNR and have a very basic ISO of an Ubuntu CE UNR. I don't have any idea about how to go about making it available to people who want to try it out, as I am new to this whole process and have never done this before. So if anyone wants to try it or just look at it let me know the basic process of making it available online.

As I said, this is a very basic first step of a workable UNR CE. And I hope that someone will take the idea and really run with it to make Netbook Remix Christian Edition everything that it could be. As for myself, though I don't have a lot of time to work with it, I'll try to keep seeing what I can come up with in my spare time.

Thanks. And if anyone have any good advice, feel free to contribute, as this is a very n00bish project and contribution. And I'll probably have a lot of questions for you in the whole process.

--N.

Anastasis
January 30th, 2010, 03:21 PM
I'm pretty happy this weekend. I've finally been able to get my first LiveCD/DVD of Ubuntu Christian Edition v6 (Karmic) Netbook Remix. It's very preliminary, and I've already seen some things I want to change in the next nuke. But all the basics of what I want are there. I've used Christian Edition this year on another machine and it has worked out great and helped out my transition from XP by leaps and bounds. I'm a Bible Translator by training. That's what I went to university to learn how to do. So all the Bible study tools available on linux and specially packaged in Christian Edition were a true God send to me. So I am a firm supporter of Ubuntu CE, though a n00b at linux in general.