PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Secondary Drive error

wolf187
January 29th, 2010, 03:01 PM
I have been using Ubuntu for the past 3 months and only recently I occurred a problem, I have on my secondary IDE cable connected a DVD-RW Drive and a hard drive, this setup has been working so far until yesterday and I am unsure what I did wrong, I get the following error when I try to mount the hard drive:
Error mounting: mount exited with exit code 1: helper failed with:
Failed to write lock '/dev/sdb1': Resource temporarily unavailable
Error opening '/dev/sdb1': Resource temporarily unavailable
Failed to mount '/dev/sdb1': Resource temporarily unavailable

Only the hard drive seems to be having this problem, my DVD-RW drive works perfectly fine, I tried disconnecting the DVD-RW drive and the error is still there.

Thanks in advance

J V
January 29th, 2010, 03:06 PM
go to your disk utility and see whats wrong please...

HarrisonNapper
January 29th, 2010, 03:15 PM
Is the HDD the Master or the Slave connection? Sometimes it doesn't matter, but sometimes you have to poke around in BIOS to make it work.

Cheers.

EDIT: see the next two posts for a more sensible first step :)

dnairb
January 29th, 2010, 03:46 PM
This may seem a silly point, but first I would check that the cables are still connected properly - power and data, to both motherboard and drive. Unplug then plug each cable to ensure.

audiomick
January 29th, 2010, 03:49 PM
This may seem a silly point, but first I would check that the cables are still connected properly - power and data, to both motherboard and drive. Unplug then plug each cable to ensure.

I second that. Always check the simple stuff first, is my hard won experience.;)

wolf187
January 30th, 2010, 09:43 AM