PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] gdm loop



dzon65
January 29th, 2010, 11:36 AM
I did this fresh install yesterday (9.10,shipit cd) without any problems.Booted some 3,4 times since.The last boot however didn't work.Gdm went into a loop and there was no session option below.No matter what I did,it kept poppin' up the gdm.Never had this before so I did a reinstall.I remember a thread on this but can't find it back.Anyhow,in order not to have to do a reinstall when this should happen again,what are my options when I get into that loop again (hopefully not)?

warfacegod
January 29th, 2010, 02:51 PM
This one?

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1390190&highlight=loop

warfacegod
January 29th, 2010, 02:52 PM
Maybe this one?

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1378810&highlight=loop

warfacegod
January 29th, 2010, 02:56 PM
Or this?

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1047692&highlight=gnome+loop

Can you login as root or get into the recovery console?

HarrisonNapper
January 29th, 2010, 02:57 PM
Also, switch to a tty (Ctrl-Alt-F#), login, and "sudo dpkg --reconfigure gdm" Er, might also just be one dash. For some reason, all of my shell knowledge is state-dependent. The state being having a shell accessible :)

warfacegod
January 29th, 2010, 03:04 PM
If that doesn't work. Then try purging and reinstalling gdm from there.

dzon65
January 29th, 2010, 04:30 PM
Ok,checked out the links but they couldn't help me any further.So,next time (what the hell am I saying,..."next time"?),I'll try to purge,reinstall or reconfigure the gdm.
Thanks for the tips.
Regards,J.

HarrisonNapper
January 29th, 2010, 08:44 PM
I'm confused as to how you mean when you say "next time". Did you get it working? If so, how? Just curious.

dzon65
January 31st, 2010, 11:29 AM
As I didn't know what to do,I did a reinstall and up until know everything's working properly.If this should happen again,I'll try reinstalling gdm through tty.
Kind regards,J.