PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] File / Directory permissions

BigSteve_G
January 29th, 2010, 01:08 AM
I'm new to ubuntu / Linux after using Windows NT / 2000 & XP for about 11yrs - Now I'm getting my head around ubuntu slowly but surely (especially with help from on here) - Anyways I've worked out how to setup & control file & directory permissions (although some adviced would be appreciated) but what I'm woundering is in Windows with NTFS I can set files & directorys to inherit access permissions from the parent folder - how do I do this in ubuntu with ext3 or ext4?

Another thing is how do I set a directory so that the owner (root) has full access, one group (photoviewers) has readonly access, another group (photoeditters) has full access & everyone else has no access?

adam814
January 29th, 2010, 05:48 AM
Another thing is how do I set a directory so that the owner (root) has full access, one group (photoviewers) has readonly access, another group (photoeditters) has full access & everyone else has no access?

This can be done using ACLs. I'd recommend installing eiciel, which allows configuring ACLs graphically in Nautilus.

The first part of this guide (before it branches off onto KDE stuff) explains adding the "acl" option for your partitions in /etc/fstab.

I think you can also do the "inherited permissions" thing too with ACLs, just haven't had the need to set it up that way. I may give it a try now just because it sounds like a good idea.

BigSteve_G
January 31st, 2010, 02:29 AM
- Thanks

The only thing is I'm new to Ubuntu so not sure how to do this - I know a bit about the 'get apt' command to install stuff but not sure what fstab file is that you mentioned.

adam814
January 31st, 2010, 05:17 PM
This a pretty decent guide to setting up ACLs:
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/FilePermissions#ACLs

But it doesn't mention that you have to add "acl" to the mount options in /etc/fstab. I'll show you an example from mine.