PDA

View Full Version : RecordMyDesktop woes



neojames
January 25th, 2010, 07:41 PM
I'm having trouble with recordMyDesktop. The vidio goes funny like in this (http://www.youtube.com/user/neojames11#p/u/0/zlv40VsKi1c)vid.
Does anyone know how to fix this?

AutoStatic
January 25th, 2010, 08:45 PM
You could try the recordMyDesktop package I've uploaded, it's patched so it uses sane defaults: https://launchpad.net/~autostatic/+archive/ppa/+files/recordmydesktop_0.3.8.1-1autostatic2_amd64.deb

Please let me know if it works for you or not.

neojames
January 26th, 2010, 05:05 PM
Thanks i'll give it a go when I get back on my desktop. Does it have a repo so I can keep it updated?

LuridCinema
January 26th, 2010, 07:56 PM
Are you running Compiz fusion ?? that can give unexpected results

neojames
January 26th, 2010, 08:23 PM
Yes i'm running compiz, however I sometimes use the effects in vids.

neojames
January 26th, 2010, 08:25 PM
It still flickrs with the hacked version of recordmydesktop.

AutoStatic
January 26th, 2010, 08:26 PM
@neojames, it's a PPA, so you can add it as 'ppa:autostatic' in Synaptic - Settings - Repositories - Other Software - Add

@LuridCinema, I've tested it with Compiz enabled and it worked fine for me.

AutoStatic
January 26th, 2010, 08:30 PM
It still flickrs with the hacked version of recordmydesktop.That's weird, I'll test it again. And I didn't hack anything, just applied some patches ;)

neojames
January 26th, 2010, 08:36 PM
If it helps i've got a nvidia 9600GT Graphics card with propriatory driver vershion 185

AutoStatic
January 26th, 2010, 09:04 PM
I have the practically the same card (9600M GT), same driver and just made a screencast of the desktop Cube and it works fine.