PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] Drummer looking to set up a recording studio in the attic. Watcha got?

SomeGuyDude
January 25th, 2010, 06:31 AM
All right, I've spent the last week or so looking this stuff up and still have no idea. So let me lay down the groundwork:

1) I'm a drummer, so I'm going to have between 4 and 8 mics.

2) I understand the mic situation and I've got Ardour to fiddle with, all I need help with is getting the sound from the mics into my machine.

3) I don't have a lot of money. I won't say a budget number because if need be I'll spend a little more, but I really, really would like the mixer/interface/whatever to be under $400.

So yeah, there's that. I have my drums set up in my attic and I'd like to start turning it into a mini recording studio. Any help you all could give me in the realm of doing so would be most appreciated.

My cursory research has left me drowning in a sea of jargon and not understanding just what hardware I should be looking at. Mixers? Unpowered mixers? Multi-track recorders? What?

JC Cheloven
January 26th, 2010, 12:03 AM
If I understand you, what you need is either:

An audio interface with lots of inputs, which works in linux, OR

An analog mixer, with lots of inputs (will merge in 2 channels to the pc)

For an audio interface, you should look for a firewire one. I'm looking for one myself, and mostly daydreaming with the focusrite saffire pro40, which seems to be supported soon by ffado. See what is supported in ffado (http://www.ffado.org/?q=devicesupport/list) and fits your budget. For example the pressonus firepod is widely reported to work. Note: an usb interface won't do as your main interface for recording.

For an analog mixer, there are plenty of options, and there is no worry about linux compatibility. Perhaps the best option for you. For example Behringer (http://www.behringer.com/EN/Products/) has good quality/price ratio.