PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] RAID0 Dual Boot W7 and...

cthulhuxxx
January 14th, 2010, 03:48 PM
Hello all. Like you see so many of here, I am a newb to installing multiple Operating Systems. I will try to explain my situation exactly. My hope is to get simple answers. Nothing too techie.

Ok, here I go...

I am ordering a new laptop. It will have 3 hard drives. 2 160Gb SSDs which will be in RAID0, and one 500Gb 7200RPM. Obviously the 2 SSDs will be for the OS(s). It will arrive with Windows 7 (64 Bit) already installed on the RAID array. I plan on dual booting, having W7 for for gaming and work.

With RAID0, the 2 SSDs at 160Gb apiece will wind up being one 160Gb hard drive; isn't that right?

So I am thinking of choosing half for W7 (80Gb), and the remainder for Ubuntu (5Gb swap partition, remainder for for OS). So that's 3 partitions total. A 5Gb swap is more than enough; right (with having 12Gb of RAM)?

BTW: The Ubuntu I will be installing is Ultimate Edition 2.5 64 bit if that makes any difference

I did try and do some research before starting this thread. Unfortunately, I have to say that I don't think I've learned quite enough.

When I used the live CD and ran the disk partitioning tool on Ubuntu just to see what I could see...it appears that Ubuntu did not see the RAID. It looks as if it was still seeing the two hard drives as separate drives.

So it saw this:

| | ------- Hard Drive 2
| |
| |

So ultimately, I really am looking for someone who has patience enough to baby me through this. I am not too proud to admit that I am very exited about making this happen, yet I have no clue on how to do it.

End Result:
Dual boot W7 (64 bit)/Ubuntu (64 bit) with swap, residing on RAID0 array.

So I'm looking for help literally from starting the computer with the Ubuntu disk in the drive, to seeing my new desktop ready to go, step by step explained like you're explaining to a 5 year old.

Thanks to anyone who replies, sincerely.

Edit: