PDA

View Full Version : I'm new To programing

renoman19
January 14th, 2010, 08:57 AM
Hello everyone, I'm new to this forum but not to ubuntu, i've been following ubuntu since version 6. something in order to replace windows on my desktop. I really want to contribute to this operating system because i think it is a great operating system. But here is the problem, i have never created a program, not even sure where to start. So any ideas. The programs i hope to make are, Games, Utilities, Multimedia Programs and maybe others. as i said earlier i am a new user to this forum, and i'm not even sure if i posted this in the right area. any help is greatly appreciated! Thanks

slooksterpsv
January 14th, 2010, 09:03 AM
Word of advise - You may start small with simple boring programs, but they are very useful to learn. I remember the first game I had to make was Pong, a boring game, but there was a bit that went into it. It's helped for larger projects and that.

One of my favorite books is: C++ Programming for the Absolute Beginner. It's a great book and walks you through step by step. If you like games, it has you make a game at the end of each lesson - simple and boring yes - but strong fundamentals.

Once you learn C++, look into FLTK (Fast Light ToolKit) it's an easy IDE that uses C++ for the coding. Java is a great one (slow though).

#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

int main()
{
cout << "Hello World!" << endl;
return 0;
}

iponeverything
January 14th, 2010, 09:15 AM
Download or buy a book on C++ or C programing and start working your way though it from the begining. If you decide to study comp-sci some point you will have good head start..

ronniestamps
January 14th, 2010, 09:18 AM
#include <stdio.h>

main()
{
for(;;)
{
printf ("Hello World!\n");
}
}

always a good start ;)

SunSpyda
January 14th, 2010, 12:15 PM
First, pick your technique. Will you learn bottom-up, or top-down?