PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] xargs +find + Kayone =fail

Kayone
January 12th, 2010, 10:28 PM
find . \( -name "*\?*" -o -name "*:*" -o -name "*\;*" -o -name "*\**" \) | xargs -n1 -I{} rename "\*" "" {}
I am wondering why this isn't working. Any ideas?

I am trying to dig through some directories (under the current directory) for special characters and remove them. Realistically, I would like to replace it with a underscore but I can't seem to get anything to work. I am failing at xargs...

I'm a noob. I am getting the following error:

syntax error at (eval 1) line 2, at EOF
xargs: rename: exited with status 255; aborted

sisco311
January 12th, 2010, 10:45 PM
EDIT:

find . \( -name "*\?*" -o -name "*:*" -o -name "*\;*" -o -name "*\**" \) -exec rename -n 's/[?:;*]/_/g' {} \;

find . -depth \( -name "*\?*" -o -name "*:*" -o -name "*\;*" -o -name "*\**" \) -execdir rename -n 's/[?:;*]/_/g' {} \;

Kayone
January 13th, 2010, 04:30 PM
EDIT:

find . \( -name "*\?*" -o -name "*:*" -o -name "*\;*" -o -name "*\**" \) -exec rename -n 's/[?:;*]/_/g' {} \;

find . -depth \( -name "*\?*" -o -name "*:*" -o -name "*\;*" -o -name "*\**" \) -execdir rename -n 's/[?:;*]/_/g' {} \;

1. Will I need to sudo to run exec? I run it and it says things are renamed yet they aren't actually renamed. If I run it again, it says the same things are renamed but nothing is...

2. It appears this works on file names only. Is that correct?

Thanks sisco!

sisco311
January 13th, 2010, 05:27 PM
1. Will I need to sudo to run exec? I run it and it says things are renamed yet they aren't actually renamed. If I run it again, it says the same things are renamed but nothing is...

2. It appears this works on file names only. Is that correct?

Thanks sisco!

To actually rename the files you have to remove the -n option from the rename command.