PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Somethings happening with my PC-FSCK,No Gome desktop, Routine check of drives. HELP!!

suomalainen
January 12th, 2010, 09:13 PM
Ubunteros,

I've been running Linux-Ubuntu since November of 2007. I use 8.04LTS. Until today, I have never experienced any sort of MAJOR problem with Ubuntu. Now I may have an issue. You will soon tell me.

Here is what's going on:

1. Booted up computer normally. Everything appeared normal. Entered password & user name and waited for desktop to appear.

2. Desktop did not appear. An error message popped up stating that gnome desktop could not load.

3. With this info I decided to re-boot my PC.

4. When I rebooted my PC I got an error message that GRUB was loading and then it was followed by Error 18

5. I had to re-boot my machine about 5 times until this error 18 message finally went away. However, things got a little wierd?? Although, I finally did not reveive the error 18 msg on the 6th go around the PC went into some sort of self diagonisc mode. Just a black backgound with scrolling white text appeared before me.

6. When this "self-diagonstic" test finished it stated something to the effect that I could run a fsck but when I tried that didn't do anything.

7. So I rebooted my PC and then Ubuntu went into a "Routine Check of drives: /dev/sda1..." mode. This seems to run REAL slow as I'm on 10% for last five minutes.

8. I tried to by pass the Routine Check by hitting ESC but after I enter my password and user name the system seems to just hang.

I'm not too sure what to think or what is going on. Maybe after this ROUTINE CHECK OF DRIVES finished I'll be back up and running???

In any case, I looked up some info and I'm hoping I don't have a harddrive propblem. I have a 500GB Seagate that is only 2 years onld.

Any ideas as to what I may be experiencing most appreciated.

Thank You!!!!

adam814
January 12th, 2010, 09:21 PM