PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Acer fan control

kermit2435
January 11th, 2010, 11:17 AM
Does anyone have an idiots guide to controlling the fan on an Acer Aspire One, I am a newbie to this linux lark so need a Janet and John guide i.e open a terminal and type "bla bla". I am currently running version 9.10, the previous version 9.04 had the facility for me to open a terminal and type the following "sudo /usr/local/bin/acerfand" this would switch the fan off until the CPU got hot.
I am not familiar with installing packages so really need the Janet and John approach.
Thanks Kev:D

wojox
January 11th, 2010, 11:31 AM
With A110 and UNR v9.10, (late 2009 release), the only thing needed to be changed form the vanilla install is to edit /etc/modprobe.d/acerhdf.conf and add the line: options acerhdf kernelmode=1 then reboot. This controls the fan and is worth swapping to ubuntu just for this, the netbook is then silent apart from the sound made by using the keyboard..

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/AspireOne/Ubuntu9.10

shuttleworthwannabe
January 11th, 2010, 12:14 PM
With A110 and UNR v9.10, (late 2009 release), the only thing needed to be changed form the vanilla install is to edit /etc/modprobe.d/acerhdf.conf and add the line: options acerhdf kernelmode=1 then reboot. This controls the fan and is worth swapping to ubuntu just for this, the netbook is then silent apart from the sound made by using the keyboard..

Any such luck for my lenovo ThinkPad x200--the fan is just unbearable?

kermit2435
January 11th, 2010, 06:41 PM

Thanx, but how do I get to the line to edit ?:popcorn:

shuttleworthwannabe
January 11th, 2010, 06:48 PM
Thanx, but how do I get to the line to edit ?:popcorn:

Run this is terminal

sudo gedit /etc/modprobe.d/acerhdf.conf

kermit2435
January 11th, 2010, 07:03 PM

I keep getting permission denied, how do I switch this bloody thing off, it's driving me mad Gibber Gibber:(

kermit2435
January 11th, 2010, 08:12 PM
Run this is terminal