PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Cannot Play video on Ubuntu 9.04

vamsiL
January 11th, 2010, 10:10 AM
I am a newbie on linux. Have upgraded from Ubuntu 8.10 to 9.04. Everything was working fine till today.
I suddently find that I am not able to play any video files on the Ubuntu 9.04

I have Movie Player and VLC Media Player installed. In both players, whenever I try to play a video, the player is just closing. Or sometimes in VLC Media player, I can hear the audio but when I click the video screen of the player, it closes.:(

Please help me out on this one...

Thanks in advance

vamsiL
January 11th, 2010, 10:13 AM
BTB, I am using a 82815 Intel Chipset based Gigabyte Motherboard with onboard graphics card.

llawwehttam
January 11th, 2010, 10:14 AM
Have you installed codecs and the ubuntu-restricted-extras package?

barnex
January 11th, 2010, 10:16 AM
Can you start vlc from the command line and look if there is an error message printed there?

There has been a vlc update recently, but in my case it did not break things.

vamsiL
January 11th, 2010, 10:24 AM
Have you installed codecs and the ubuntu-restricted-extras package?

Yes, I have the Gstreamer Codecs Installed and also the Ubuntu-restricted extras package

Can you start vlc from the command line and look if there is an error message printed there?

There has been a vlc update recently, but in my case it did not break things.

How do i start from command line? (Sorry, but am a totally new to linux...)

Okay, I typed VLC in the terminal. The VLC Media player opened and when I tried to play a video file by Media->Open File,
this is the output on the terminal

VLC media player 0.9.9a Grishenko
[00000001] main libvlc debug: VLC media player - version 0.9.9a Grishenko - (c) 1996-2009 the VideoLAN team