PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] 6 screens on one monitor....

Hobix
January 10th, 2010, 08:05 AM
First off im pretty new to ubuntu, so bare with my slowness..

I have installed a dual boot of windows and ubuntu 9.10 onto my Asus a50v laptop. I have gotten everything to work.. sorta. I have an onboard GeForce 9800m GS 512mb gfx card. Using EnvyNG and downloaded the 185 driver. It installed just fine no errors etc. I restart my system, but when I Get back into ubuntu im faced with a wierd problem.

I have 6 "desktops" as it were on one screen they are all running at 640x480. I can get into the Nvidia ctl panel just fine, but in there it says that 640x480 is the max resolution and that I have multiple displays.

I have had ubuntu installed onto this computer before and had the drivers work just perfectly. Any clue how to fix it?

lukeiamyourfather
January 10th, 2010, 08:17 AM
Did you install the driver from the "Hardware Drivers" or repositories, or was it downloaded directly from nVidia? Can you change the resolution using the nVidia utility?

Hobix
January 10th, 2010, 12:23 PM
Well first I used the repos. from EnvyNG, tried every combo, then eventually downloaded the newist stale drivers from nvidia and installed them manually, getting the same results.

It seems as if my monitor is just not detected. When I view my xorg.config it is empty.

cement_head
January 10th, 2010, 02:57 PM
Well first I used the repos. from EnvyNG, tried every combo, then eventually downloaded the newist stale drivers from nvidia and installed them manually, getting the same results.

It seems as if my monitor is just not detected. When I view my xorg.config it is empty.

An empty xorg.conf is normal on Karmic; your nVIDIA driver should be able to read your monitor. If you are having problems you could try an open up the displays dialogue System>Preferences>Display and tell us what are your options in that dialogue.

Hobix
January 10th, 2010, 03:28 PM