PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] firefox live streaming



jackel7
January 10th, 2010, 01:24 AM
There is a live internet streaming cast that runs on Friday's. I can't watch it using firefox. so I have to reboot into windows, use ie to view it. I want to be able to view it while using firefox via ubuntu. How can make this happen:confused:

Thanks

ron999
January 10th, 2010, 02:45 AM
Hi
It could be because you haven't got the multimedia plugins for Firefox.

You can check this by typing


about:plugins
in the URL window.

It should show a whole list of the formats that Firefox can handle.

To install the plugins use this command in a monitor:-

sudo apt-get install mozilla-plugin-vlc

;)

jackel7
January 10th, 2010, 02:59 AM
Hi
It could be because you haven't got the multimedia plugins for Firefox.

You can check this by typing


about:plugins
in the URL window.

It should show a whole list of the formats that Firefox can handle.

To install the plugins use this command in a monitor:-

sudo apt-get install mozilla-plugin-vlc

;)

it gives me the following message E: Invalid operation instoll

ron999
January 10th, 2010, 03:03 AM
instoll

You've spelled it wrong.
It's an a in install, not an o.

jackel7
January 10th, 2010, 03:11 AM
I've done this. now will this insure live streaming in real time?

ron999
January 10th, 2010, 03:17 AM
I've done this. now will this insure live streaming in real time?
Keep your fingers crossed. :D

jackel7
January 10th, 2010, 03:24 AM
it is showing this media player which is the same one that was there before

Totem Browser Plugin 2.28.2, Browser Plugin using GStreamer 0.10.25

I don't know if that did it and i wont be able to find out until next week.

that's why I want to fix it now

chaanakya_chiraag
January 10th, 2010, 03:26 AM
you may have to uninstall the totem plugin if you have installed the vlc plugin in order to make sure firefox uses the vlc plugin.

jackel7
January 10th, 2010, 03:28 AM
i'm still kinda new to ubuntu how would I do this uninstallation

chaanakya_chiraag
January 10th, 2010, 03:30 AM
Yeah...try running the following command:

sudo aptitude purge totem-mozilla
and see if that helps.

chaanakya_chiraag
January 10th, 2010, 03:34 AM
You will also have to restart your browser after you run that command.

jackel7
January 10th, 2010, 03:37 AM
I've done this and I can't see the last post you left. the words are gone

jackel7
January 10th, 2010, 03:39 AM
ok i restart the browser it is all normal

lovinglinux
January 10th, 2010, 05:59 AM
Comprehensive Multimedia & Video Howto (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=766683)

chaanakya_chiraag
January 10th, 2010, 03:50 PM
Is it playing now?