PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] How Do I Use Route to...?



noblow91
December 31st, 2009, 01:03 AM
I have a situation where I cannot stream media over the router connected to the internet. I got another router the other day and I keep it disconnected from the internet just so I can use it for my media streaming. I am wondering how to use route to set up my computer so that I can still access the internet with it without having to disconnect from from my streaming router...and vice versa.

I have a similar situation for my laptop as well, but I figure the answer will be the same for both


route -n
Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
192.168.1.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 wlan0
192.168.2.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
0.0.0.0 192.168.1.1 0.0.0.0 UG 100 0 0 wlan0
0.0.0.0 192.168.2.1 0.0.0.0 UG 100 0 0 eth0

Iowan
December 31st, 2009, 01:28 AM
More than one default gateway usually doesn't work. I suspect you only need the internet-connected router to be the default gateway.

noblow91
December 31st, 2009, 07:23 PM
I've tried removing the ones for my non-internet connect one, but as long as it remains plugged in to my computer I cant use the other router at all.

I have found a better solution though. I have plugged my streaming router into the internet router. I can stream my media through my router and still access the internet. I don't have to worry about messing up my routing table either.:)

Iowan
December 31st, 2009, 08:32 PM
Glad you found a workable solution.
(Thanks for marking the thread as [SOLVED]!)