PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Grub2 will not boot from hard disk

wkinney
December 24th, 2009, 04:36 PM
I installed Ubuntu9.10 from CD. System is an hp p6230f with AMD 64b quad running Windows7. When booting, do not get menu or grub command line. Must use CD to boot. Using CD, I get option to boot from disk, and that works OK. I have run "Boot info script" as directed in the forum. Results.txt is attached.

Please review Results.txt and tell me how to fix grub2.

I am a newbie to forums. I apologize if this post is not up to snuff.

Thanks

oldfred
December 24th, 2009, 05:32 PM
If you can boot from the CD you install must be ok and it is the copy of grub that is the issue. I would try reinstalling grub first. Their is a small bug in grub that if grub is one one drive sda and the install is on another sdb your grub menu will take 20-30 seconds longer to appear. If you want to install grub to sdb and in BIOS make your sdb drive 1000GB the boot drive it will boot slightly faster. You could before switching drives install the windows boot to sda so in the future if you ever have a problem with sdb you just have to switch drives again to boot windows. I like having different operating systems on each drive and that system set up in the MBR of that drive. Since grub/Ubuntu is better at choosing which to boot I make it the first to boot.

First boot into Ubuntu and run this to install grub to sdb - it will give you a choice of which drive to install to:
sudo dpkg-reconfigure grub-pc

You could switch drives and make sure it boots. If you then desire you could switch back and use your windows CD/DVD to reinstall windows boot to the sda drive.
How to restore the Ubuntu/XP/Vista/7 bootloader (Updated for Ubuntu 9.10)
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1014708

I am not sure grub has found the correct entries to boot windows? Windows will normally combine boots into one so grub can only find the one and then windows gives you the choice of which windows to boot.