PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Raid 1+5+0?

K.J.
December 22nd, 2009, 08:51 PM
Hi, I'm pretty new to the Raid game, but have recently enjoying the comfort of knowing my data is at the very least protected from hardware failure (my really important data is still backed up offsite).

This leads me to my question. Is it possible to stripe together Raids of different types? i.e. Can I create a Raid 0 out of a raid 1 and raid 5?

The reason is, I have 4 disks. Two are 1 TB and two are 300 GB. I currently have it set up as 1+0. However, since speed and redundancy are not that important and disk space is become a premium, I'd like to maximize the storage space while still having fault protection of 1 disk. So, is it possible to create a Raid 5 of 4x300GB partitions and a Raid 1 of 2x700 GB partitions and then a raid 0 of the resulting 900GB and 700GB partitions?

Also, I'm not trying to raid 0 for speed concerns, just the ease of load balancing the disks because you would theoretically be able to treat the raid 0 as a single partition of 1600 GB.

Thanks!

pricetech
December 22nd, 2009, 09:12 PM
First of all, you don't have a RAID 5. You have two RAID 1s based upon what you've described.

Even if you could do what you want, you're only gaining 300 gigs. I don't think it would be worth the trouble of dumping all your data and trying to set it up.

Stick with 1+0 unless you plan to purchase a 3rd drive to make a RAID 5 array.

ratcheer
December 22nd, 2009, 10:03 PM
I agree with pricetech, you need RAID 1+0. First, you mirror two pairs of disks, then you create a RAID 0 stripe across the two LUNs. This gives high performance (RAID 0) and complete redundancy (RAID 1).

Tim

K.J.
December 22nd, 2009, 10:11 PM
I think you misunderstood a bit. I know I don't have Raid 5 right now. Right now I have 1+0. What I wanted to know is its possible to create a create a single unit (either raid 0 or linear) out of a raid 5 and a raid 1.