PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [CROSS] Ubuntu 9.10 vnc server

nuzzosono
December 22nd, 2009, 07:31 PM
Posted also in ubuntu.it forum.

Hi everybody, I'm new to Ubuntu, I've set up a server to use as a Hylafax server, everything is working now, but I have a problem with the remote control of the server.
I have installed SSH, and I can access the machine from everywhere (the lan and outside with VPN).
Now I'dd like to make remote desktop session working, I tried vino, vnc4server, x11vnc and tightvncserver but I have always the same problem, the remote screen appear empty, I can move the mouse and click everywhere, but I can't see menu bars, icons, text, etc.
I enclose two screenshot to clarify the issue.

http://img692.imageshack.us/img692/2972/desktopwindow.jpg (http://img692.imageshack.us/img692/2972/desktopwindow.jpg)

http://img51.imageshack.us/img51/4784/loginwindow.jpg (http://img51.imageshack.us/img51/4784/loginwindow.jpg)

Thank you in advance from any help.

krunge
December 22nd, 2009, 10:21 PM
I tried vino, vnc4server, x11vnc and tightvncserver but I have always the same problem, the remote screen appear empty, I can move the mouse and click everywhere, but I can't see menu bars, icons, text, etc.
I'm not sure if this is your problem, but with x11vnc try the "-noxdamage" option (search forums for "noxdamage" for more info.) Or, if compiz is active then disable it.

Also, be sure you are connecting to the vnc server you think you are. Watch their terminal or logfile output when the vncviewer connects to make sure. Sometimes people think they are trying many different vnc servers but every time they are connecting to the same one (e.g. vino.)

(BTW it surprises me that the RAM-only virtual servers vnc4server and tightvncserver would have the same problem as the hardware based ones...)

doas777
December 22nd, 2009, 10:32 PM