PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Acer Aspire One/Atheros AR9285 drops wireless connection since upgrade of v9.10

flopwich
December 20th, 2009, 12:00 AM
I have an Acer Aspire One configured for double-booting with Ubuntu v9.10 and Windows XP Home. The wireless works fine on the Windows side and used to with Ubuntu as well, even after I upgraded to v9.10. I ran System Manager the other day, though, and after it updated Ubuntu the wireless was broken. It connects when you first boot up and then drops the connection after about 10 seconds. It won't reconnect without rebooting, and then the same thing happens. Ubuntu is able to connect with a direct Ethernet connection without a problem.

I've attached a Word 97 file with all the information you say to gather. Note that since the wireless won't work I gathered it all with the Ethernet connection only, except for the search for wireless networks. If you need more information, please let me know, but be explicit. I'm a noob with Linux and need precise instructions.

I posted a thread on this problem on the beginners' forum, but the discussion went cold after a couple of days with no success on my end. The link is here: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1354252

Thanks for your help.

coffeecat
December 20th, 2009, 12:21 AM
I had flakey wireless with 9.10 on this Acer laptop with the Atheros AR928X wireless chipset. But it was flakey from the start, not good and then problematic after an update. Anyway, it was fixed by installing these two packages:

linux-backports-modules-karmic-generic
linux-backports-modules-wireless-karmic-generic

They'll pull in the 2.6.31-xx numbered package to correspond to your kernel. You need to reboot after you install them. Obviously, you'll need to use your ethernet connection to do the install. You'll get updated drivers including the Atheros wireless ones. No guarantee that will work with the AR9285, but it's worth a try.

flopwich
December 20th, 2009, 07:26 PM