PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu Server vs Windows SBS 2003 - Help Me Get Back To Ubuntu

AlexanderDGreat
December 18th, 2009, 02:27 PM
Hi, after trying Ubuntu Desktop for 5 months. Plus, another 3 months using Ubuntu Server. I've switched back to Windows Small Business Server 2003.

Here's my story. We have a small construction firm and no IT staff with 20 computers (Windows XP & Ubuntu JJ) & 1 Server. We bought a wonderful package for small businesses, Windows Small Business Server (SBS) 2003. I set it up and it was great. Namely: Active Directory, File Services, Print Services, Domain Group Policies were so user-friendly, all in 1 GUI. Except ISA Server, which I didn't know how to configure.

My frustration came when the server was attacked by a virus because I inserted a USB device, my mind was flying at that moment. Then AD users were not authenticated, group policies were erased, printers crashed, usual horrible stuff.

Now, I tried Ubuntu Server. I studied about basic SAMBA, LTSP, NFS, FTP, Squid, and other necessary tools to "COPY" our previous environment. It worked great until I forgot one thing,

--How do you pass Group Policies to computers and users?
--How do users authenticate, Active Directory style?
--How do you pass Group Policies for domain Users & Computers? (for example, 1 wallpaper for all, disabled Control Panel, Admin account, etc...)

Can you help me how to do these in Ubuntu Server if I do all computers 100% Ubuntu clients?

PS Our office does basic computing: typing, restricted Internet browsing, file, print sharing, firewall, burning dvds for presentations, instant messangers, making invoices, and watching shared videos.

PPS I've given up LTSP because of speed & performance, and of my Atom thin clients.

craigp84
December 18th, 2009, 03:50 PM
Hi AlexanderDGreat,

It sounds like you'd be more comfortable in SBS 2003, it probably makes more sense, in your situation, to go that route?