PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ok some simple things but yet so confusing in ubuntu.

aklo
December 8th, 2009, 02:43 PM
Total noob here. I install ubuntu because of the interface and want to try something that belongs to the geek community and i think i am not "geek" enough.

Some simple things which i can't figure out.

1. My nvidia 8800gt fan speed in ubuntu, is it dynamic speed or is it manual speed? In windows mine is set to dynamic so it speed up the rpm when i play graphic intensive games...but what about ubuntu? Does it run on dynamic or manual by default? Any ways i can change them? Heck i don't want it to spin at 30% when my gpu temp is like 70 degree when it could be much lower if it is at 100%.

2. Are there any GRAPHICAL monitoring widgets/softwares in ubuntu?
Seems to me almost everything runs in the command line or terminal. Even simply checking my hard disk temp(using hddtemp) needs me to type a command.

3. Are the temp monitors available out there accurate especially the default installed nvidia x server ? I just checked the temperature and it is 52 degrees celcius while in windows normally it is 54-55...well it could be due to the fact ubuntu is cooler or something but i wouldn't take any chance if the temperature is not accurate.

4. Ok so i read the documentation (like real) nah, i just found a link which says there are problems with the ext4 format with files larger than 512MB(from the official ubuntu bugs)...can someone confirm this? Or whether any of you are using the ext4 format and have files which are few gigs in size and still doing good? damn i have a ton of files larger than 512mb each and waiting in my winxp hard disk can't wait to bring them over to ubuntu.

edit: Lastly how do i disable ubuntu for asking me for my password everytime i make changes?

Ps: after my long post i did a search and finally found 2 links to "widgets" in ubuntu.

http://screenlets.org/index.php/Home
http://www.gdesklets.de/