PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How to install a *.package file

joepz
December 7th, 2009, 09:47 PM
Hi, I am still pretty new to Ubuntu, but getting there step by step.
Now I need to install a file/package: ko2009_linux-1.20.x86.package

It didn't 'autorun' when clicking the link on the website, so I downloaded this package (saved it locally). When doubleclicking the file, I get prompted to select an application.
Apparantly a *.package is not associated.
Now what do I do? Associate it with something? How?
Or run it somehow from the terminal?

Help is welcome,
Thanks,
Joep

rubenverweij
December 7th, 2009, 09:53 PM
Hi Joep,

I don't really know what a .package file is, but are you sure the package isn't available via the Software Center?
Otherwise, you could try to execute this command in a terminal to determine what kind of file it is:

file -i *.package
Then we might be able to determine what kind of file it is.

Hope this helped.

achase79
December 7th, 2009, 10:01 PM
.package files are usually a self-installing file using autopackage. you must execute this file in terminal to install and usually you need an active link to the internet.

joepz
December 7th, 2009, 10:38 PM
Hi Joep,

I don't really know what a .package file is, but are you sure the package isn't available via the Software Center?
Otherwise, you could try to execute this command in a terminal to determine what kind of file it is:

file -i *.packageThen we might be able to determine what kind of file it is.

Hope this helped.

Hi, this is the response:
joep@joep-desktop:~/Downloads$ file -i ko2009_linux-1.20.x86.package
ko2009_linux-1.20.x86.package: text/x-shellscript; charset=binary

Familiar to you?

It is definitely not in the software center. It is a package provided by Dutch tax regulator to fill out for a refund related to child day-care costs. Pretty 'exotic' :p

Thanks,
Joep

joepz
December 7th, 2009, 10:41 PM