PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Total Ubuntu Noob... Video Card Trouble

Lee2010
December 7th, 2009, 04:58 AM
Hi I'm 17 and for the past month now I have been on a linux kick... I have downloaded MANY different forms of Linux and now I have made Ubuntu 9.10 my permanent OS but I am completely new to gnome... My ATI RAGE 128 PRO will not set to a resolution above 800x600 is there anything I can do? I tried to go into xorg.config but nothing happened... I have a Sun 24" monitor and 800x600 is not very useable... Any help would be nice... Remember I am 17 and relatively new to Linux and especially new to gnome so don't give me too much of a hard time.... I am trying to learn this so I don't have to use an OS that just slows down my computer.... and also is there any software that I need to download just to make Ubuntu better? Thanks

bradleypariah
December 7th, 2009, 05:05 AM
I apologize if you have already tried this, but normally for an ATI driver, all you have to do is click:
System > Administration > Hardware Drivers

If your card is even remotely new, the closed-source ATI driver should be listed there.
You would just need to hi-lite it and click "Activate".

Let us know if you've already tried that, if it works, or whatever the case may be.

Cheers!

Lee2010
December 7th, 2009, 05:08 AM
I tried that already and nothing happened... The ATI Rage 128 Pro is not new... it is kinda old...

presence1960
December 7th, 2009, 05:12 AM
I tried that already and nothing happened... The ATI Rage 128 Pro is not new... it is kinda old...

Unfortunately AMD/ATI dropped support for linux drivers on their older cards.

Lee2010
December 7th, 2009, 05:15 AM
Well is there any way to change the resolution to anything higher than 800x600?

presence1960
December 7th, 2009, 05:18 AM
Well is there any way to change the resolution to anything higher than 800x600?