PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu Update Manager

Spright
December 1st, 2009, 12:06 PM
Hi all,

I'm a beginner and I'm confused about the automatic updates that pop every week or so in Ubuntu.

Should I really install everything on the list?

What about updates for elements that I never use? I never use BlueTooth or Evolution; should I bother updating these every time? And is there a way to stop receiving updates for those particular tools?

Now and then a new Linux kernel comes. Does Ubuntu really change its whole kernel every few weeks?

Some updates say in the Description stuff like "You likely do not want to install this package directly. Instead, install the linux-generic meta-package, which will ensure that upgrades work correctly, and that supporting packages are also installed." What should a humble beginnerlike me do with this confusing information?

Thanks,

Me.

mkvnmtr
December 1st, 2009, 12:15 PM
I install every update that comes up and have never had a problem. I even have backports enabled. That being said I normally uninstall all apps that I do not use such as bluetooth and Evolution. I do see threads where the poster is saying that the update borked their system but I am never sure if it is really operator problems or something with their specific system.

Bunnybugs
December 1st, 2009, 12:16 PM
Hi all,

I'm a beginner and I'm confused about the automatic updates that pop every week or so in Ubuntu.

What about updates for elements that I never use? I never use BlueTooth or Evolution; should I bother updating these every time? And is there a way to stop receiving updates for those particular tools?

Now and then a new Linux kernel comes. Does Ubuntu really change its whole kernel every few weeks?