PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Random USB Mouse Freeze with NVIDIA

gvvsss
November 27th, 2009, 12:28 AM
Hello

I am a system administrator, but little new to Linux.

I have a desktop system (Personal) with the following configuration.

AMD Phenom X4 9550, ASUS M3N78-VM Motherboard (NVIDIA GeForce 8200), 2 GB RAM, Logitech USB Mouse, Logitech PS/2 Keyboard

I have recently installed Ubuntu Karmic erasing all my previous jaunty installation.

Since then, I am facing frequent random mouse hangs and everything else is working fine. Even when mouse freezes everything seems to work with keyboard. I am able to do a normal soft reset with Ctrl+Alt+Del, but it has become so regular and annoying.

All my system works fine when I put the same HDD in another system with ATI or Intel Graphics, so it seems to have something to do with NVIDIA.

It also works fine when I put the same HDD in an NVIDIA system with PS/2 mouse.

I have no choice on my Motherboard to use a PS/2 mouse, so I am locked up.

Is there any way I can isolate the issue, what is causing the freeze (any software package),or if it a real bug yet unsolved,, any test or log etc?

gvvsss
November 28th, 2009, 04:41 AM
Somebody please help...

December 5th, 2009, 08:07 PM
I have been having the same problems, I have an Asus M3N78-PRO motherboard And a cheap USB keyboard and mouse.

Both the mouse and keyboard hang on me at random though the mouse hangs more.

I also have an USB HP printer that as far as I can tell doesn't hang but it does have it's USB connection reset every few seconds to minuts, and while the KB and mouse don't hang on Win7 the printer still does the connection reset thing.

While I am not sure I belive it is related to the motherboard.

After a hang typeing "lsusb" in a console gets me nothing the program just hangs.