PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Wirless Drivers

Muhnamana
November 22nd, 2009, 07:35 PM
So I'm brand new to Ubuntu. I took my Windows XP laptop and wanted to learn Linux so installed Ubuntu. Everything installed fine but how can I get my wireless lan driver working?

Again, I'm new to this and still learning. Any help would be appreciated.

gnusci
November 22nd, 2009, 07:39 PM
Did you give a look to bapoumba's sticky:

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=370108

Give a look over there and then post some useful information so people can help you.

AFI420
November 22nd, 2009, 07:49 PM
theres obviously a huge issue with wireless on this release

Muhnamana
November 22nd, 2009, 07:50 PM
Well I typed
lspci -v | less

and only see Host Bridge, VGA compatible controller, Display controller and
PCI bridge controller. I see nothing about wireless internal card.

I hate to post a wireless ticket issue when I have no clue what information
I need to fill out.

Muhnamana
November 22nd, 2009, 07:51 PM
theres obviously a huge issue with wireless on this release

Lovely, so you are telling me I picked a buggy version to learn on?

AFI420
November 22nd, 2009, 08:18 PM
so did I. I figured hey i hate windows and apple is too expensive, why not learn linux. downloaded ubuntu, as that is what my boss suggested. Now ive been dealing with this wireless adapter for a week to no avail. If you just want to play around id suggest getting Sun Virtualbox and loading ubuntu on it. it will setup network connection on its own and you can get used to navigating the OS

Charlietje
November 22nd, 2009, 08:52 PM
what does the output of following code gives?

lshw -class network

coffeecat
November 22nd, 2009, 09:10 PM
Lovely, so you are telling me I picked a buggy version to learn on?