PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Can someone tell me what ubuntu one is for?

Supertramp1138
November 20th, 2009, 10:04 AM
Ok so what is ubuntu one and what is it used for?
I went to a site and it said something about a $10 a month subscription fee?

YosefKaro
November 20th, 2009, 10:14 AM
ubuntu one is ubuntu's first step into 'cloud computing' where data and files are no longer stored on your computer but 'in the clouds' that is, on the internet. ubuntu one is free and you can try it out up to 2Gb of data. I'm new to this too and I am looking forward to learning much about this as this is the direction that the future of computing is heading...to the 'clouds'.

-Yos

Check out this site (https://one.ubuntu.com/) on ubuntu one. You only have to pay $10/mo if you want 50Gb of space.

emigrant
November 20th, 2009, 10:16 AM
i would like to know, how secure is this in terms of privacy.

Supertramp1138
November 20th, 2009, 10:20 AM
i would like to know, how secure is this in terms of privacy.
I would like to know as well

YosefKaro
November 20th, 2009, 10:42 AM
Cloud computing is new to practically all of us and security is everyone's first concern about this novelty. I followed the lecture that was given about ubuntu one on IRC during open week. I don't remember exactly how the lecturer answered this question but I do remember that his answer put all of us at ease regarding the security of cloud computing. That is, no one can access your data that you upload unless you choose to share it with other individuals.

-Yos

JBAlaska
November 20th, 2009, 10:47 AM
Well, I wouldn't put my credit card number or pictures of naked animals on it lol.

manoriax
November 20th, 2009, 10:54 AM
Well, I wouldn't put my credit card number or pictures of naked animals on it lol.

Why didn't you tell me beforehand? Damn it. :D

YosefKaro
November 20th, 2009, 11:02 AM
Only if you want to share your credit card info with others ;)

Kellemora
November 20th, 2009, 05:50 PM