PDA

View Full Version : How do I break into IT

rootless
November 20th, 2009, 01:50 AM
I love linux. I am consistently amazed at how much I've learned since I started with ubuntu. When I look back at the posts I made as a noob it makes me smile.

I feel that I have come very far, to the point where I can fix the majority of software problems on my own. I've learned perl. I've administered and secured a server. I've repaired all manner of problems, and custom-built distros.

I dual boot with Gentoo now ^___^ Anyway, at a certain point... I'm not quite sure when, I just realized I wasn't a noob anymore. I suppose it was when people started to go to me and ask for help, instead of me having to ask them.

I absolutely love technology. I already spend hours every day messing with linux. I would love do this as a job. I don't think it would get old.

There's one problem though- I'm a freaking historian! I have two history degrees. I am entirely self-taught in the field of technology. I've never taken a class or gotten a certification in my life! My resume is laughable!

I'd like to try to break into IT... but honestly, from my perspective, with my unconvincing resume, it seems near-impossible.

So far, I've come up with a few ideas. I'd like to try to start small, to build experience volunteering, or at a help desk... but nowadays even these jobs are asking for more rigorous certification.

I know I could pass at least the lower-level Redhat Certifications if I study... I just dunno whether I want to spend any money on EVEN MORE classes a this point. Maybe I'll just study over the summer and try to take the test.

Still, passing a test doesn't guarantee anything. Can you give me any advice on how to build a resume so that I can break into the field? What web sites do you use when your on the hunt for an IT job?

joey-elijah
November 20th, 2009, 02:02 AM