PDA

View Full Version : C++ Problem with passing arrays as arguments

jdunn
November 17th, 2009, 07:43 PM
I'm fairly new to C++ and haven't gotten used to memory allocation yet. I wrote a small program that reads a file (one-line at a time) as a string and parses data from it into 2-dimensional arrays of different sizes. Then another function (I call it "foo" here) takes each array as an argument and performs calculations. The program works as expected when compiling and running with GNU G++ in linux. However, the same simple program crashes or produces weird results with MingW or Visual C++ (in Vista). I suspect I'm doing something wrong with the memory allocation here. help.

#include <iostream>
#include <fstream>
#include <string>
#include <sstream>
using namespace std;

class Assemble
{
public:
string s;
int lnum;

int** A;
int** T;

void readfile()
{
ifstream in("input.txt");
getline(in, s);
stringstream ss(s);
ss >> lnum;

A = new int*[3];
T = new int*[3];

for (int j = 0; j <= lnum; j++)
A[j] = new int[3];
for (int j = 0; j < lnum; j++)
T[j] = new int[3];

parser(lnum, A, 1);
parser(lnum, A, 2);
parser(lnum - 1, T, 1);
parser(lnum - 1, T, 2);

foo(lnum, A, 1);
foo(lnum, A, 2);
foo(lnum - 1, T, 1);
foo(lnum - 1, T, 2);
}

void parser(int arsize, int** GenAr, int i)
{
// data gets parsed from string and stored in array
}

void foo(int arsize, int** GenAr, int i)
{
// crash occurs when calling this function
}

b&m
November 17th, 2009, 08:18 PM
Try with

instead of

;)

jdunn
November 17th, 2009, 08:31 PM
Try with

instead of

;)

The Array A is has one more column than Array T...Two two-dimensional arrays of different sizes. This is also why the function calls use slightly different arguments. Also, I'm not using index 0 in the arrays...I'm using 1 to lnum for A and 1 to (lnum - 1) for T.

b&m
November 17th, 2009, 08:45 PM
Try

foo(lnum, A, 2);

instead of

foo(lnumm, A, 2);

jdunn
November 17th, 2009, 08:50 PM
Try

foo(lnum, A, 2);

instead of