PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] networking issue

<h1>Mckennie</h1>
November 17th, 2009, 05:38 AM
i have recintly installed ubuntu karmic koala and today i was playing around with changing my computers ip address but when i could not access the internet with a different ip i just rebooted and it was all fine but this time i tryed rebooting but it didnt work. i made a new net work connection didnt connect. i have the ip address of my router and my networking cards MAC address but nothing works. plus

thanks everyone! im a noob here so go easy. sorry for the bad spelling =p

Iowan
November 18th, 2009, 04:53 AM
Where were you changing IP address - Network Manager (or directly into /etc/network/interfaces)?

<h1>Mckennie</h1>
November 18th, 2009, 05:47 AM
i used

sudo ifconfig eth0 192.168.1.2

but after i changed it back with

sudo ifconfig eth0 192.168.0.100

and the internet still didnt connect ](*,)

and just to make it all worse, to post these on the forum im using a windows vista and it could never compete with my good old ubuntu box even though it has thrice the ram and twise the proccesing power. ubuntu really is the ultimate operating system

Iowan
November 19th, 2009, 04:38 AM
Check /etc/network/interfaces to see if anything unusual sneaked in (it will probably have only two lines defining "lo").

<h1>Mckennie</h1>
November 20th, 2009, 05:52 AM
the contents of that file is
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet static
address 192.168.1.2
netmask 255.255.255.0
network 192.168.1.0
broadcast 192.168.1.255
gateway 192.168.1.1

Iowan
November 20th, 2009, 11:32 PM
Did it work with Network Manager controlling the connection? Try commenting out the eth0 configuration - or at least putting back the "lo" definition.
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

#auto eth0
#iface eth0 inet static
#address 192.168.1.2
#netmask 255.255.255.0
#network 192.168.1.0
#broadcast 192.168.1.255
#gateway 192.168.1.1

<h1>Mckennie</h1>
November 21st, 2009, 01:29 AM