PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu_studio] Just getting started and need a hug...I mean a HAND

gurubomber
November 16th, 2009, 02:17 PM
Hey everyone. This is my first post after lurking for quite some time so please be gentle but I would really appreciate some feedback if you find it might be helpful.

So I am taking my first steps into the Linux pool. I have been using computers for 20 years with the great majority of that use by way of what I now consider an everyday torture device.....the Windows laced P.C. As I slowly try to wrap my brain around the concepts and tools linux has to offer I am a little dissapointed in myself and kicking my own behind as well.

The past 20 years I have been working in the CAD drafting and design field which I recently left as for as the corporate arena is concerned to pursue a more indie paved road. My last gig for about the past two years was what I consider the mountain top as far as a CAD operators career path is concerned. I wrote and implemented official CADD Drafting and Design standards for Capital Projects at the University of Washington. I am fairly proud of that acheivement and still surprised that this was something the UW had not previously accomplished.

Anyway to fill in a couple more spaces, I am also a musician. I am a singer-songwriter here in Seattle. Music is definitely my passion and I also enjoy playing with computers.....a little.....now. See over the last decade or so I had made countless attempts to create a decent sounding demo with my PC and I am sure I need not detail the results to 'this' group.