PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Advice for partitions

annie227
November 16th, 2009, 02:00 AM
I've attached a screenshot of my 500GiB HD thus far in 2 partitions.
First I'd like advice on it's current state and
second I would like to add another partition for mint7 and/or ubuntu studio(to try).
sda1 is XP,sda2 is "storage" plus I have an external HD
Thanks heaps

Jon Monreal
November 16th, 2009, 02:03 AM
What exactly are you looking to do?

annie227
November 16th, 2009, 02:12 AM
Wow,you're quick Jon.
Well,first,what do you think of how it's "laid out",eg,is the swap the right size etc?That kind of thing and
then I'm wanting to install another linux but first I would like to know if I have the right amount of space,MiB's allotted to karmic,xp or if I could shrink them down or whatever.
I'm fairly new at this and value opinions of those who know what they're doing!

raymondh
November 16th, 2009, 02:14 AM
you have one (1) primary partition left (from the 4-rule). That means you can take space from the NTFS media (or your windows) partition to create that remaining primary and make it for mint.

I don't know if a default mint install will put a swap space/partition. If so, you're going to exceed the 4-rule (4 primary partitions or 3 primary + 1 extended). One workaround there is to manually install Mint root in the remaining primary partition and mount the existing swap.

I bet Mint doesn't care if it resides in a primary or extended partition (as a logical). Ubuntu sure does not. If so, you can create a logical partition inside the existing extended and install unto that. You can also mount swap as well. In this workaround, you wont have to bother about primary partitions and that "darn" 4-rule.

regards,

PS. swap is a bit big at 4GB. But then again, with 500GB to work with .... that's less than 1%. ;)