PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Can I use my alternate / text-based Ubuntu 9.10 CD as a Live CD without installing it

Subbu_09
November 15th, 2009, 05:17 PM
Hello,

I am new to Linux.

By mistake, instead of downloading a desktop/Live CD, I downloaded a Alternate / Tex-based CD for an Intel machine. I do not want to waste time downloading a Live CD again. I want to try Ubunty 9.10 with the Alternate CD like a LIVE CD without actually installing it. How can I do that? I have already created the downloaded ISO image as a bootable CD and the CD boots. But, I do not see the option to "install ubuntu without altering my system" option at the top. It starts with the "Install Ubuntu"
in the menu list.

Are there any workarounds or shortcut methods to solve my problem. Should I need to download any other addtional files to make this ubuntu-alternate-i3d6.iso CD work?

This is a very urgent request as I am currently online and looking for advice.

Thanks for your help.
Subbu.

aysiu
November 15th, 2009, 06:16 PM
You can't use the alterate CD as a live CD.

Subbu_09
November 20th, 2009, 01:40 PM
Hi,

Thank you for your response. I got an issue with my desktop LIVE CD as well.

I got my Ubuntu desktop LIVE CD burnt today and tried to boot my system with it.
I see the boot options where I can select "try ubuntu without changing my computer".
But, after clicking enter on that menu, nothing happens. My monitor goes to sleep and then system restarts. Once again, I am presented with the same screen. And when I click the option "Boot from my primary hard disk", I am able to boot in my WindowsXP

I do not know what is wrong with it? Is it something wrong with the ISO Image I burnt OR would there be any issues with the downloaded ISO file itself. I used a download manager software (in order to make sure that I am able to RESUME the download later, if the internet connection is slow or if it is lost for a while), GET RIGHT to download the ISO image.