PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] pptp VPN in Karmic



shineymart
November 15th, 2009, 03:51 PM
I need to connect to my work network from home using pptp and Karmic on my laptop. Using network manager I set up a VPN connection and can connect and see our internal web app - great!

But.... all my internet traffic is now going down the vpn, which is not so great since my work connection is slower than at home.

So... I checked 'use this connection only for resources on its network' and reconnected - while network manager appears to connect to the VPN ok and my internet connection is OK I can't see anything on the work network at all.

Routes command reveals

Without vpn
Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
192.168.0.0 * 255.255.255.0 U 2 0 0 wlan0
link-local * 255.255.0.0 U 1000 0 0 wlan0
default 192.168.0.1 0.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 wlan0

With VPN and 'use this connection only for resources on its network' checked I get
Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
192.9.xxx.xxx * 255.255.255.255 UH 0 0 0 ppp0
xxxx.xxxxxxxxxx 192.168.0.1 255.255.255.255 UGH 0 0 0 wlan0
192.168.0.0 * 255.255.255.0 U 2 0 0 wlan0
link-local * 255.255.0.0 U 1000 0 0 wlan0
default 192.168.0.1 0.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 wlan0

If not I get the following routing
Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
192.9.xxx.xxx * 255.255.255.255 UH 0 0 0 ppp0
xxxx.xxxxxxxxxx 192.168.0.1 255.255.255.255 UGH 0 0 0 wlan0
192.168.0.0 * 255.255.255.0 U 2 0 0 wlan0
link-local * 255.255.0.0 U 1000 0 0 wlan0
default * 0.0.0.0 U 0 0 0 ppp0

The VPN server is using pptp and is dynamically allocating an ip address lease as I log in.

Thanks in advance

Martyn

shineymart
November 25th, 2009, 09:24 AM
Bump

Anyone?

agibby5
December 18th, 2009, 01:21 AM
I'm having this same problem. I had this working Intripid, I think. My VPN settings broke in Jaunty and I never tried to fix them. I just got my VPN connection working again on Karmic. But, like OP, all my traffic is going through the VPN. The settings in PPTP are different from when I last set this up. What do I need to do on the IPv4 Settings page to route only work related traffic through the VPN?